Energy Storage Association Names Executive Director


The Energy Storage Association (ESA) has changed its name from the Electricity Storage Association and named Matthew Roberts as its new executive director.

‘This is a transformative time for energy storage in the U.S. and globally,’ says Darrell Hayslip, chair of the ESA's board of directors. ‘As demand for a more resilient, responsive and efficient grid advances, ESA is committed to continuing our work with stakeholders from across the energy industry to drive new markets for energy storage technologies and advocate for fair, competitive regulation. Our new name, new website and the hiring of our first ever full-time executive director reflect the dynamic environment we see happening in our industry in 2014 and beyond.’

Before joining the ESA, Roberts led government and public affairs efforts for the Methanol Institute – a trade association focused on the deployment of advanced transportation fuels. Roberts has also worked with the renewable energy industry as a consultant, focusing on solar, wind and geothermal technologies.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments