DOE To Fund 12 Solar City Initiatives


The U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) is making up to $2.4 million available to 12 cities selected as Solar America Cities. These dozen locations were chosen for their commitment and comprehensive approach to the deployment of solar technologies and the development of sustainable solar infrastructures.

The designated Solar America Cities will each receive $200,000 from DOE to integrate a variety of solar energy technologies throughout the city. The cities, in alphabetical order, include: Denver; Houston; Knoxville, Tenn.; Milwaukee; Minneapolis and St. Paul; Orlando, Fla.; Philadelphia; Sacramento, Calif.; San Antonio, Texas; San Jose, Calif.; Santa Rosa, Calif.; and Seattle.

Combined with industry cost share and funding from each city, total investment in all 12 cities is estimated at $12.1 million, according to DOE.

Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments